September 16, 2009

  • Time to Retire Old Glory

    Let’s Ditch the Stars & Stripes Along with That Silly Pledge to the Murderous Imperial Republic For Which It Stands

    09/16/2009 01:26am

    There was a story in the news the other day concerning the requirement, in certain school districts, that teachers inform students of their right to remain silent during the “Pledge of Allegiance”. As you might imagine, the right-wing nuts over at Fox News were quite perturbed by this. Aside from my belief that this is only fair, I got to thinking about our flag and that for which it really stands.

    Growing up, I was of course fed the standard pack of lies about freedom and opportunity and equality for all along with truth, justice, mom, apple pie, etc. As I grew older and wiser, however, I saw that the reality is much different. It became clear that what those stars and stripes stood for was every bit as nefarious as that represented by the swastikas flying above Germany and its occupied lands during World War II. Yes, behind the red white and blue that we so proudly hail are some of the greatest evils ever known: genocide of Native Americans; enslavement of the black man; internment of fellow citizens whose only crime was their Japanese heritage; the invasion and occupation of sovereign nations; and of course, the failed experiment known as capitalism which has caused more death, destruction, and ruined lives than any of those totalitarian dictatorships with whom we felt so justified in making war.

    During the months following the alleged Al Qaeda attacks of September 11th 2001, I could not help but think that all the arrogant flag bearing and nationalism were perhaps the very sentiments that might incite such a terrorist act. It is my continued belief that patriotism is a barbaric, dangerous, and outdated concept which must be eliminated if we are to peacefully co-exist with our fellow citizens of earth. I therefore propose we take the first step in eliminating this jingoism by retiring the American flag along with all those foolish salutes, pledges, and hand-on-heart gestures. I submit that in its stead we adopt a new flag which replaces those thirteen stripes and fifty stars with the big blue marble in space that we all share. That is, a symbol of one unified world under the United Nations with no borders, a common currency, and a respect for all the citizens of our common planet. Surely this only makes sense. After all, are not these the very principles to which we thought we were pledging as naïve school children?

    Liberty and justice for all.


     

    create counter

Comments (56)

  • Patriotism is commercialized these days.  Every other reminiscence plate is an American flag/bald eagle.  Bumper stickers are on everyone's car.  Patriotism in forced and in-your-face these days.  I thought patriotism was supposed to be true, from the heart, and free from stain.  Isn't being loyal and proud without being forced to what patriotism should be?

    I like your idea of a new flag.  America is made up from people all over the world, so that makes this flag make even more sense.

  • then stop creepin on my shit!
    drugs are good :)

  • Nobody else is saying it so I will, I think your proposal for a new American flag is utterly ridiculous and I cannot for the life of me understand why the globe on a flag is a good idea. If you look past the commercialization in the stars the stripes, the symbolism behind it is rooted deeply in our early history, something a simple globe cannot capture. When immigrants came to the States they adopted the nationality of being American and as such we should be branded with our own unique symbol.. something representative of our history like the stars and stripes!

    I think your qualm with the flag is not with the patriotism it captures or you'd suggest no flag at all. Instead, I think your problem is with the Republican face hiding behind patriotism and the ideals they project under the guise of patriotism. Hell who knows, I could be wrong. Either way I think your suggestion is ridiculous.

  • @bealibertarian  - Why would we want a symbol that captures our history, as thoroughly embarrassing as it is? The point of my essay was to say that we have to stop this arrogant contention that we are citizens of the United States. If civilization is to move forward, we must start thinking of ourselves as global citizens. Borders divide. Flags inspire conquest. Patriotism is perversion. And Capitalism is a crock! Now let's stop it with the damn Lee Greenwood songs already!

  • @SKANLYN - 

    I think its nice that you have dreams but be realistic for a moment…What nation can boast that it has a history it is compeltely proud of?  Does that mean that you should hate a country for mistakes made in the past? No... it means you should do your best to make amends and prevent future embarassments from occuring. If I’m understanding correctly your solution to national pride is the idea of a global citizen? The idea of a global citizen is wrong because people try to avoid conflict entirely… allowing blantant human rights violations to occur. If your not willing to fight for the sake of preventing African countries from committing genocide, or from countries driving citizens into slave labor, or all the other blanant human rights violations in the world, in the end world organizations that promote peace are just words. No real change will occur. As such there are differences that exist between countries. There is nothing wrong with celebrating those differences as long as it doesn’t lead to national conflict.
    Capitalism isn’t perfect but its strengths are greater than its weaknesses. Just curious but what would you suggest as an alternative economic system?

  • I get where you're coming from 100% and i do agree that america is a hypocrite unto itself, but i will say this: I do not, nor will anyone ever be able to convince me within this lifetime, that a global society can exist. it would collapse becasue humans are violent and exil creatures who crave destruction. now, do i believe that there needs to be reforms in our own government to make way for a more peaceful future, sure, but until there is something from beyond our world that is more dangerous, there can be no global government that doesn't dissolve into utter chaos, sorry.

  • If only you knew the extent of injustices committed by the American government...

  • @meta_k - a world flag would be cool.  I'm a citizen of the world too.

    but the American flag...it could be worse with that yay hoo in Virginia wanting to bring back the Dixie flag

    @schallerbrandon - do you have the secrets?  Hey, some dude threatened to beat me up on my pulse. will you come be my big brother for a second?

  • Very good post. I think we should start thinking of ourselves as citizens of the world rather than a citizen of this chunk of land.

    This goes to other nations as well. We all live in this piece of rock floating in the vast vast outer space -- why can't we just be united?

    Ah I know this is very ideal and utopian but what the heck, let us strive for that unity and border-less world.

    Patriotism is an offshoot of ethnocentrism.

  • @And_I_love - SENTENCE LONG CRASH COURSE:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/16/world/16memo.html?ref=world

    The US government operates on fear and uses it to manipulate its citizens into supporting genocide and exploitation.

    I'd recommend "Understanding Power" by Chomsky to start, and then some coco butter exfoliating lotion to finish.

  • Wow, such negativity

  • @phantomFive - Yeah whatever you Tea Partying prick.

  • lol wow, such an assumption. What are you going to do, kill everyone who disagrees with you?

  • @phantomFive - That's what America does all around the globe. 

  • That's no justification! You still can't kill everyone you disagree with.

  • @phantomFive - You're the real killer man, you and your kind (i.e., Christian Republicans).

  • As if I were a republican. Or even christian.

  • This is pure evil and these are the ideas of Satan.

    You have basically laid out the formula for the Appacalyse. You have even included the small details. A one world Government, a siingle currency, Loving thy neighbors??

    Tis the eye of Belzeebub on that flag.

  • @phantomFive - Well if you're not then why you spreading your hate to my blog about bringing people together?

  • @tendollar4ways - Yeah whatever. You been watching too many episodes of that Jesse Ventura show.

  • @SKANLYN - He has a show? I gotta catch that one.

  • I'm not, I'm just giving my true reaction

  • I seem to recall you posting some pretty ridiculous comments somewhere, but this was a good post. I hear what you're saying!

  • I like this the second time too.  OK, I get it...kinda, LOL

    1. you're avidly atheist2. pro-choice (for whatever, ah, reasons, doesn't matter, it's a plus)
    3. Irreverent re: sense of humor (that's a good thing)
    4. Professional mind-fucker (that's where you had me going again)
    YOU GOT ME!  
    Over there today, you got me.  I was like, what the Fuck!  
    Some day when I have another extra hour I'll come over here and try to figure you out some more.  It's like a trippy puzzle.

  • @Diva_Jyoti - And I get you too. You're an extreme right-winger caricaturing a liberal. A reverse Stephen Colbert, if you will.

  • @SKANLYN -

    If only

    .  If only I was wealthy enough for that to make any kind of logical sense in terms of my own economic best interests and that of pretty much everyone else I know, not to mention the bleeding heart bit that somehow got carved into me prior to birth.

  • @Diva_Jyoti - 

    You've given yourself away babe. You let your character get too crazy and now you have lost your credibility. Time to reopen under a new user name and start the joke over.

  • Skanny, Skannilicious, I did not know you were a commie!  How cute

  • You had me until the last paragraph. I believe we should just diband government and live our lives. no need to make it a massive multi-continental government. A small group of people with that much power is the scariest thing I can imagine. 

  • @DrummingMediocrity - Not commie, just anti-American as all non-ignorant people are.

  • It's funny that phantom whatever sees this as negative because it looks pretty positive to me.

  • put titties on the flag

  • Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues.
    It was really informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  • Wonderful site you have here but I was wanting to
    know if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I'd really like to be a part of community where I can get feedback from other experienced individuals that share the
    same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Thanks!

  • Heya i'm for the first time here. I found this
    board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

  • Hi there mates, how is the whole thing, and what you desire to say
    concerning this piece of writing, in my view its genuinely amazing designed for
    me.

  • Good replies in return of this question with genuine arguments and telling all regarding
    that.

  • It's very simple to find out any matter on web as compared
    to books, as I found this article at this web page.

  • I was able to find good information from your blog articles.

  • Hello everybody, here every person is sharing these kinds
    of knowledge, therefore it's good to read this website, and I used to go to
    see this weblog all the time.

  • Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Chrome.

    I'm not sure if this is a formatting issue or something
    to do with browser compatibility but I thought I'd post to
    let you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon. Thanks

  • Hey! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects?
    Thanks!

  • This blog was... how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something which helped me.

    Thanks!

  • Hi there, just wanted to say, I liked this article.
    It was helpful. Keep on posting!

  • With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of
    plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of completely
    unique content I've either created myself or outsourced but it
    appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement.
    Do you know any techniques to help protect
    against content from being stolen? I'd definitely appreciate it.

  • You could definitely see your skills within the work you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how
    they believe. All the time go after your heart.

  • I think the admin of this website is really working
    hard in support of his web site, for the reason that
    here every information is quality based information.

  • I was able to find good information from your blog articles.

  • Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site thus i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  • Like many others, I have yet to see a census form in the mail. As a matter of fact, I dont recall seeing one or talking to anyone in either of the past two censuses.

  • Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post. Many
    thanks for providing this info.

  • It's going to be ending of mine day, however before ending I am reading
    this impressive article to improve my experience.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.