July 25, 2011

  • Marijuana Claims the Life of Another Celebrity

    The Devil’s Herb

    07/24/2011 03:10pm

    As most of you have heard by now, Amy Winehouse was found dead Saturday from a suspected marijuana overdose. It was not entirely unexpected. The troubled singer had struggled for years with marijuana addiction and it was only a matter of time before she took one toke too many.

    Reading through Xanga blogs, I am very often perturbed not only by the number of Xangans who admit to using marijuana but also by how many of them are under the delusion that it is a safe drug. Only the other day I saw a post entitled “Cannabis is Safer”, leading me to ask, “Safer than what? A hollow tip bullet fired directly into the brain?” Marijuana kills plain and simple! It may not be your first hit, or your second, or even your hundredth but, if you continue to use this dangerous drug, you will eventually be forced to endure the tragic consequences. Consider the number of celebrities who have died from marijuana abuse:

    GG Allin (musician, lead singer of The Murder Junkies)

    Syd Barrett (founding member of the British rock band Pink Floyd)

    John Belushi (actor, comedian)

    Len Bias (basketball player)

    Lenny Bruce (comedian)

    Jeff Conaway (star of the hit television series Taxi)

    Kurt Cobain (lead singer of Nirvana who committed suicide after years of struggling with marijuana addiction)

    John Entwistle (bass player for The Who)

    Chris Farley (comedian, star of Saturday Night Live)

    Greg Giraldo (comedian)

    Corey Haim (star of The Lost Boys and long-term “partner” of fellow actor Corey Feldman)

    Jimi Hendrix (guitarist, singer)

    Janis Joplin (singer)

    Heath Ledger (“The Joker”)

    Lisa “Left Eye” Lopez (member of 90’s girl group TLC)

    Brittany Murphy (actress)

    Keith Moon (drummer for The Who)

    Jim Morrison (lead singer of The Doors)

    Dana Plato (Kimberly Drummond of the TV show Diff’rent Strokes)

    Elvis Presley (“The King”)

    River Phoenix (actor and brother of Joaquin)

    John Ritter (Jack Tripper of ABC TV’s Three’s Company)

    Anna Nicole Smith (Playboy model and reality TV star)

    Layne Stayley (lead singer of Alice in Chains)

    And the list goes on and on.

    Even scarier than the musings of the self-destructive fools here who proclaim the wonders of frying their brains on marijuana is the fact that many states are considering decriminalizing or outright legalizing the deadly herb, a move that will surely fill local morgues to capacity with the bodies of our children. Let’s not forget that marijuana doesn’t always just kill the user. While high on marijuana, Sex Pistols’ bassist Sid Vicious stabbed his girlfriend Nancy Spungen to death before dying of a marijuana overdose himself while awaiting trial for the murder. Brynn Hartman, wife of Newsradio star Phil Hartman, shot her husband to death then turned the gun on herself while under the influence of marijuana. Then of course there’s WWE wrestler and noted pothead Chris Benoit who murdered his entire family then took his own life while stoned on the evil weed. Is this the kind of tragedy we want to perpetuate? If anything, states and the Federal government should be pushing for stiffer penalties on the use and distribution of marijuana, not encouraging it.

    Let us learn from the tragic mistakes of celebrities like Amy Winehouse. Any way you slice it or dice it, marijuana is bad. At the very best, its habitual users will kill themselves. At the very worst they will take one or more innocent non-users with them.

     

     

    create counter

Comments (76)

  • Jimi Hendrix overdosed on sleeping pills and choked on his own vomit.

    Is this satire?

  • @FallingSafely - Sleeping pills make you sleep, not choke on your own vomit. It was the marijuana in his system that killed him.

  • You're just checking to see if anyones paying attention right? I'm not a friend of pot or of any other drug, alcohol etc heck I don't even like to take an aspirin if I can help it but I'm pretty sure I've never heard of anyone actually dying from pot use. Not directly anyway. I think pot kills the same way twinkies and cheeseburgers do... G.G. Allin = heroine overdose; Syd Barrett = pancreatic cancer; John Belushi = speedball (cocaine & heroine); Len Bias = cocaine overdose; Lenny Bruce = morphine overdose; Jeff Conaway = Pneumonia caused most likely by overuse of opiates; Kurt Cobain = heroine addiction/suicide; John Entwistle = cocaine induced heart attack; etc etc etc.

  • @drawmafreezone - You can deny it all you want but marijuana kills. Those celebrities all died from either an overdose of it or some complication that arose from its habitual use (e.g., Syd Barrett's cancer).

  • @SKANLYN - I see... Oh, well, all I have to go on is what's on the death certificates and it's obvious you know more about their deaths than the coroners did so I'll bow to your superior knowledge of the subject. As I said, I'm not a fan of recreational or legal drugs and I've tried most of them so I have enough first hand experience to know that they aren't a good way to go.

  • @drawmafreezone - Go spread your lies on someone else's blog. People are dying because of the misinformation you spread.

  • @SKANLYN - In case you didn't notice, I already surrendered to your superior knowledge of the subject. I'm sorry I seemed to have insulted you on your own page. I'm leaving now and I will try to remember not to return and offer uninvited input on your blog again. I pray you have a blessed day.

  • I literally had no idea you could die from a marijuana overdose. I thought anyone that dies from it dies of a complication or problem arising from it's use? 

  • @Dirigible_Plums - You're essentially playing Russian Roulette everytime you take a hit off a joint. Weed kills.

  • @SKANLYN - I feel like you might be overreacting. 

  • @SKANLYN - Actually, are you being satirical and i've missed the point of this whole post? I just noticed the title.

  • I love that you're arguing with people just to piss them off... it made my night. 

  • Everyone knows that cigarettes and marijuana are gateway drugs. Heroine users smoke pot and cigarettes.

    Same with cocaine users, meth users and all drug users.

    Thank you for calling attention to the dangers of marijuana.

  • The filthy weed!

  • @SKANLYN - I can't believe your actually serious! 

  • Actually Amy Winehouse died of alcohol poisoning. Just to let you know.

  • Thanks mate, im never going to read any of your ignorant blogs again. You have a very narrow mind, it's not just this blog, but about all of them. I hope that one day you will see clearly and have an open mind... I would feel sorry for you but i honestly don't. through your posts i can see the hatred inside of you, intertwined with your words. its just your reality though so im not upset, but it is very sad. Goodluck in life my friend.

  • @Les - Who the fuck are you anyway?

  • I don't know what idiot posted this, but marijuana killed none of the listed actors or singers, they were all killed by legal government drugs or legal alcohol!! you need to research before you post something that you know nothing about, there is actually not one proven death caused directly from marijuana!! your a dumb ass, propably an idiot republican!!! 

  • and further more I am 60 plus, I have been using marijuana for stress relief since the 70's, I work out, am very healthy, I still fly aircraft, and own my own business! I have to hide the fact that I smoke, which is stupid, I have already lost friends because of prescription drugs, mainly due to liver failure! If you think something is safe because its legal, you are an idiot, marijuana was put on this earth either by god or by evolution to be used as a healer! the same way dogs eat grass when they are sick! Marijuana is not altered by people, you plant a seed, you hope its a female, you water it, it grows, you smoke it, and it works, it makes you eat, it makes you sleep, and it makes you think!! alot of wonderful books and songs would not be here today if not for marijuana! the government don't want it legal for two reasons, one is that we could grow it so easy, we would not need to buy it, therefore no tax revenue for the crooked states of America, and the second reason is that the cotton growers have lobbied the government for years to keep marijuana illegal, because hemp is alot better than cotton, stronger, more abundant, they do not want the competition, actually it would put cotton growers out of business! thats were the reefer madness propanganda film came from, the government needed to get the people on their side so that they could officially make it illegal, the movie is bullshit, people don't jump off bulidings and see monsters on marijuana, especially that shit back then, weed is 10 times stronger now than ever! but people that knew nothing about the substance of course went along with their government! American idiots, there are alot of them out there!! beware

  • actually bacon has done more harm than marijuana, it has actually killed people, alot of people, the government is stupid for allowing people to consume this garbage! I am waiting for the war on bacon to start, I can't believe that idiot president we had named Ronald Reagan didn't start a war on bacon? Bacon could actually have been the cause of the disease that killed him!

  • attention everybody, marijuana and bacon, killed actress singer whitney houston this week!! we must do something to stop it!! maybe our stupid government can give us a prescription pill that destroys our livers to stop this madness!!! 

  • I cannot believe the stupidity and amount of uninformity this blog contains THIS IS THE 21ST CENTURY ACTUALLY KNOW WHAT THE FUCK YOUR TALKING ABOUT, marijuana or the chemical THC (tetrahydro cannibolis) is impossible to overdose on and anyone who thinks you can is insane or insanely high, look it up on google if im so wrong. If weed was so harmful why would 17 states so far have legally permitted litterally millions of people to MEDICALLY use marijuana products. As for smoking pot causing cancer... why would they let you keep smoking it after you got cancer supposedly from smoking. YOU are the misinformed one sir and I take pitty on your prejudging of a simple plant that 50 years ago you could have bought with your asprin... honestly people get your facts straight AND GROW UP

  • @johndoe336 - You can try to justify it all you want son but if you were so sure marijuana was harmless you wouldn't care what I had to say. You'd just light another one up and enjoy your trip. Instead you write this long-winded attempt at justifying your continued consumption of a deadly poison. You may be able to delude yourself out of the knowledge but you can't delude yourself out of the harm you're doing. May God have mercy on your poor wretched soul.

  • @SKANLYN - LOL,

    Omg I am dying at these peoples reactions... You must get a kick out of having a blog like this.

    "propably an idiot republican"
    "through your posts i can see the hatred inside of you, intertwined with your words"

  • @MyPublicSite - I can't really say I get a kick out of seeing our young people destroy their lives through marijuana addiction. I do find it curious though that they feel they need to justify their degenerate lifestyle to me. Maybe they should worry more about the employer who won't hire them unless they pass a drug test, the people they harm while tripping on weed, or the Lord they'll go before for judgement when they finally succumb to their addiction.

  • @SKANLYN - You're right I shouldn't have been so insensitive. It is a terrible atrocity to see marijuana ruin the lives of people who might otherwise have lived happy and healthy lives. Some of them are in such denial about how it effects them, I have to use humor to cope. The man who claimed he's been using it since the 70s. He's probably just an emotional mess, jobless, living in his own filth, unable to control his bowels. Denial. 

  • Stone the stoners 

  • of course like your website but you need to check the spelling on several of your posts.

    Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it
    very bothersome to tell the reality however I will surely come
    back again.

  • Marvelous, what a web site it is! This web site provides valuable
    information to us, keep it up.

  • I'm impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that's both equally educative
    and entertaining, and let me tell you, you've hit the nail on the
    head. The problem is something too few folks are speaking
    intelligently about. I am very happy that I
    came across this in my hunt for something relating to this.

  • It is nice to find decent content for once, I am getting sick of the retarded drivel I come across of late,
    respect.

  • If some one desires to be updated with most up-to-date technologies therefore he must be pay a
    visit this web site and be up to date every day.

  • Your means of explaining everything in this article is truly good, every one can effortlessly be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

  • Does your website have a contact page? I'm
    having trouble locating it but, I'd like to send you an email.
    I've got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.

    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  • I'm really inspired along with your writing abilities as well as with the format in your weblog.

    Is that this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway stay up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a
    great blog like this one these days..

  • I think this is among the most significant information for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on few
    general things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is really great :
    D. Good job, cheers

  • You should be a part of a contest for one of the
    most useful sites on the web. I'm going to highly recommend
    this website!

  • Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be
    on the web the simplest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries
    that they just do not know about. You managed to hit
    the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people
    could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

  • Hey there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for
    sharing!

  • I'm not sure where you are getting your information, but
    good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.

    Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info
    for my mission.

  • Appreciate the recommendation. Will try it
    out.

  • I know this if off topic but I'm looking into starting my own weblog and
    was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I'm assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I'm not very internet savvy so I'm not 100% sure. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

  • Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?

    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you
    share some stories/information. I know my viewers would enjoy your
    work. If you're even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  • After looking at a handful of the blog articles on your blog,
    I really appreciate your way of writing a blog. I saved as a
    favorite it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Take a look
    at my web site too and let me know your opinion.

  • Thanks on your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you will be a great
    author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the
    foreseeable future. I want to encourage that you
    continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

  • WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for Leg
    Lengthening

  • Hello would you mind letting me know which web host you're working with?
    I've loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a honest price?

    Thank you, I appreciate it!

  • Hi, yup this paragraph is truly good and I have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging.
    thanks.

  • I have read so many content concerning the blogger lovers but this post is
    really a pleasant post, keep it up.

  • Its not my first time to go to see this site, i am visiting this web site dailly and
    get fastidious facts from here all the time.

  • I think that is among the so much important info for me.
    And i'm happy reading your article. But want to observation on few general things,
    The website taste is great, the articles is in reality nice :
    D. Just right job, cheers

  • Greetings! Very useful advice within this article!
    It is the little changes that produce the biggest changes.

    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  • It's remarkable designed for me to have a web site, which is valuable in support of my knowledge.
    thanks admin

  • Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff
    from. I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just
    bookmark this page.

  • Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It's always helpful to read through articles from other writers and use
    a little something from their websites.

  • Normally I don't read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very
    pressured me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me.
    Thanks, quite great article.

  • It's not my first time to pay a visit this site, i am browsing this web
    page dailly and get pleasant data from here everyday.

  • Hi there, for all time i used to check blog posts here in the early hours in the dawn, because i enjoy to gain knowledge of more and more.

  • I’ve recently started a blog, the info you offer on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  • Very good info. Lucky me I came across your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have book-marked it for later!

  • Hi to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more
    from this web page, and your views are fastidious designed for new people.

  • A motivating discussion is worth comment. There's no doubt that that you ought to write more on this subject matter, it may not be a taboo subject but usually people don't
    discuss such topics. To the next! All the best!!

  • Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favourite reason appeared to be at the
    net the easiest factor to bear in mind of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while other folks consider worries that
    they just do not realize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as neatly as outlined
    out the entire thing with no need side effect , other people can take a signal.
    Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

  • It's an remarkable piece of writing for all the online people; they will obtain benefit from it
    I am sure.

  • Good day! I could have sworn I've been to this site before but
    after browsing through some of the articles I realized it's new to me.
    Regardless, I'm definitely happy I stumbled
    upon it and I'll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  • Highly energetic blog, I enjoyed that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

  • That is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I've joined your feed and sit up for seeking extra of your excellent post.
    Also, I have shared your site in my social networks

  • Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I'm trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it's the blog.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  • I needed to thank you for this excellent read!! I absolutely loved every little
    bit of it. I've got you saved as a favorite to check out new things you post…

  • Hello there I am so glad I found your website, I
    really found you by error, while I was looking on Bing for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say cheers
    for a remarkable post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but
    I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  • Hi there, I desire to subscribe for this blog to take most recent
    updates, so where can i do it please help out.

  • Everything is very open with a very clear description of the issues.
    It was really informative. Your site is useful.

    Thanks for sharing!

  • It really is built with these special capabilities as it's used to control the computers along with networks to the community.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.