December 2, 2013

  • Wost U.S. Cities - #3

    SKANLYN’s Top Ten Worst Cities in America

    12/02/2013 05:30pm

    Having had the opportunity to travel all around this great nation, I’ve gotten the chance to visit a lot of great places. I’ve also gotten the chance to visit a lot of terrible places. Since there’s no fun in writing or reading about the positive, over the next several days I will be counting down the top ten WORST cities in the United States.

     

    #4. Hartford, CT (click here to read)

     

    #3. HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA

    This list pretty much could have been comprised entirely of cities in Pennsylvania, the most dreary, miserable, depressing state in the entire the Union. In the interest of diversity though, I’ve chosen to limit myself to one city in this horrible commonwealth. While the filthy cesspool known as Philadelphia or the poor man’s Detroit (aka Pittsburgh) would have been decent choices for any list of this type, I’ve opted for the state’s wretched capital which I feel best represents the utter despair you feel when you’re in Pennsylvania.  

    Death and decay are the words that most prominently come to mind as I look to describe Harrisburg, a city that looks remarkably like the type of post atomic landscape you might see in sci-fi movie. A frozen river covered with polluted grey snow runs through town. Plumes of black smoke continually rise into the air from decrepit old mills and coal plants. A dim sun makes an increasing failing attempt to penetrate the carcinogenic tint around the city. And bitter cold perfectly mimics the effects of nuclear winter. If anyone questions why we must keep nuclear weapons out of the hands of rogue nations, they need only come to Harrisburg for a preview of what it might be like if we don’t. The primitive agrarian communities of the Amish in nearby Dutch country offer a glimpse of what it might be like a millennium or so down the road if society were to find the muster to start over again.

    To be fair, I haven’t been to Harrisburg during the spring or summer months but I can’t imagine it’s any less depressing and I suspect that the trees stay bare year round and that the color green is perennially absent from the flat brown grass in this city of living death. 

    Will your city be #1???

    Click to learn the #2 worst city in America!
    create counter

Comments (23)

  • Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this post is
    awesome, great written and come with almost all significant infos.

    I would like to look more posts like this .

  • Hello, I would like to subscribe for this website to get most recent updates, therefore where can i do it please help.

  • Quality articles or reviews is the secret to interest the visitors to pay a
    quick visit the web site, that's what this web site
    is providing.

  • My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from
    PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using Movable-type
    on a number of websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there a
    way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  • This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a
    reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was
    almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost...HaHa!) Fantastic
    job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more
    than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  • Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn't appear. Grrrr... well I'm not writing all
    that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  • Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?

  • Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I
    know my subscribers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to
    shoot me an e mail.

  • What's Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I've found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out
    loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & aid other customers
    like its helped me. Great job.

  • Hi, I check your blogs regularly. Your writing style is awesome, keep it up!

  • Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so
    I came to check it out. I'm definitely loving the information. I'm bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Fantastic blog and amazing design and style.

  • Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  • That is very interesting, You are an overly professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking extra of your excellent post.
    Additionally, I've shared your website in my social networks

  • Hi there, just wanted to say, I loved this blog
    post. It was inspiring. Keep on posting!

  • My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using WordPress on a number of websites for about a year and am
    worried about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress
    content into it? Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  • Thank you, I've recently been looking for info approximately
    this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I've found out so far.
    But, what about the bottom line? Are you certain in regards to the source?

  • Yes! Finally someone writes about Hammer Toes.

  • I'm not sure exactly why but this blog is loading
    incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end?
    I'll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  • Excellent blog here! Additionally your site rather a lot up fast!

    What web host are you the use of? Can I get your associate hyperlink on your host?
    I wish my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  • Unquestionably imagine that which you said. Your
    favourite reason seemed to be on the web the simplest thing to understand of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while
    other people think about worries that they just don't
    know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing with no need side effect
    , people could take a signal. Will probably be again to
    get more. Thanks

  • What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable
    know-how concerning unexpected feelings.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.