August 27, 2012

  • Shooting at the Empire State Building

    Police Once Again Serve as Judge, Jury, and Executioner

    08/25/2012 04:15pm

    As you’ve probably heard, the police have killed again. This of course is nothing new. Only a few days ago in North Jersey a 13 year old boy on a joyride died when police pursued him in a high speed chase until he crashed the car he was driving. A few days later cops gunned down a man in Boston’s Back Bay when he attempted to flee from them on foot after a traffic stop (it’s still not clear why they pulled him over in the first place but I'm guessing  it had to do with the color of his skin). Look through the news over the last couple of months or even the past couple of weeks and you will find dozen of similar incidents. While it is always disturbing when the police execute a suspect before he/she has been charged with a crime (let alone before he/she has had the benefit of a trial), Friday’s incident takes the cake. So blood thirsty were the NYPD to take the life of Jeffrey Johnson that they opened fire on a crowded sidewalk outside the Empire State Building, shooting several other people in the process. Of the incident which left nine innocent bystanders bleeding in the street, Police Commissioner Raymond Kelly said “I believe it was handled well”.

    Jeffrey Johnson was suspected of shooting his former coworker Steve Ercolino to death. Johnson suffered years of abuse and harassment from Ercolino while employed at Hazan Import Corp., a Manhattan-based firm specializing in the design of women’s handbags. Johnson blamed Ercolino for the loss of his job and his livelihood. While certainly not an excuse for murder, these are indeed relevant facts that should have been heard by the judge and jury who, under our Constitution, should have ultimately decided his fate.

    Shortly after the shooting, Mayor Bloomberg held a press conference. Many (including myself) expected him to assure the public that a full investigation was being conducted and that the officers involved would be held accountable. Instead he praised their actions as “heroic”. Unbelievable!

    With the plethora of non-lethal weapons available these days, there is absolutely no excuse for killing a suspect – and certainly not for endangering the lives of innocent bystanders! When will we finally wise-up and strip the homicidal maniacs in our Police Departments of their licenses to kill?         

     

    create counter

Comments (24)

  • Wonderful, what a website it is! This website provides valuable facts
    to us, keep it up.

  • Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga
    group? There's a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Thank you

  • Just wish to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your post
    is just cool and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  • We stumbled over here different web address and thought I should check things out.

    I like what I see so now i'm following you. Look forward to checking out your
    web page again.

  • You could definitely see your enthusiasm within the
    article you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who
    aren't afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  • Hi, this weekend is pleasant for me, for the reason that this time i am reading this wonderful educational paragraph here at my house.

  • I like the helpful information you provide in your
    articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.

    I am quite certain I'll learn many new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  • Hi all, here every person is sharing these kinds of knowledge,
    therefore it's pleasant to read this weblog, and I used to pay a visit this blog daily.

  • You could definitely see your skills within the article you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you
    who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  • I savour, result in I found exactly what I was having a look for.
    You've ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless
    you man. Have a great day. Bye

  • Good post. I am facing many of these issues as well..

  • Appreciate this post. Will try it out.

  • Article writing is also a fun, if you be familiar with
    then you can write otherwise it is complicated to write.

  • Hurrah, that's what I was looking for, what a stuff! present here at
    this blog, thanks admin of this web page.

  • I every time used to study post in news papers but now as
    I am a user of net so from now I am using net for content,
    thanks to web.

  • Why viewers still use to read news papers when in this technological world the whole thing is accessible on net?

  • You should take part in a contest for one of the most useful sites
    online. I most certainly will highly recommend this web site!

  • I think this is among the most vital info for
    me. And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The website style is wonderful, the articles is really excellent :
    D. Good job, cheers

  • An impressive share! I've just forwarded this onto a co-worker
    who had been doing a little research on this.

    And he actually ordered me dinner because I discovered
    it for him... lol. So allow me to reword this.... Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this subject here on your internet site.

  • There is certainly a great deal to know about this subject.
    I really like all the points you've made.

  • Very descriptive post, I enjoyed that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

  • Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my web site so
    i came to go back the desire?.I'm trying to in finding
    issues to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  • I do not even know the way I ended up right here, but I thought this put up was good.
    I don't know who you are however definitely you are going to a
    well-known blogger when you are not already.
    Cheers!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.