May 31, 2010

  • Frank Booth is Dead

    NOW IT’S DARK

    As you may have heard, the great Dennis Hopper passed away this weekend after a lengthy battle with prostate cancer. Older movie fans may know Hopper best as the director and star of Easy Rider or as the wacky photographer from Apocalypse Now. Younger fans may better know him as the bad guy from Speed or maybe King Koopa from Super Mario Bother: The Movie. Many will also remember that Quentin Tarantino-penned history lesson on interracial relations in ancient Sicily that he delivered to Christopher Walken in True Romance. Throughout his long and illustrious career, he played many memorable roles. Of all of them, however,  the one that will always hold a special place in my heart is that of Frank Booth, the anti-hero of David Lynch’s 1986 classic Blue Velvet.

    For those of you unfamiliar with the film, Frank Booth  is a rather eccentric gentleman with a bit of a rage disorder and slightly warped sexual proclivities. He enjoys himself a Roy Orbison tune (specifically the one about the "candy colored clown they call the Sandman") as well as an ice cold Pabst Blue Ribbon and the occasional puff of nitrous oxide, a convenient travel size tank of which he carries in his jacket.

    Like all of us, Frank just wants to be loved. He finds himself falling for Dorothy Valens, a night club singer known as “The Blue Lady” at the local club where she performs each night. But alas, Dorothy doesn’t even know he exists. And so he hatches a plan so crazy, it just might work! Our friend kidnaps Dorothy’s husband and son, cutting off the former’s ear and turning the latter over to the molesting pleasure of Ben, a very suave gentleman who smokes his cigarette from a holder and enjoys hanging out with a group of morbidly obese middle-aged women at place called “Pussy Heaven”. In exchange for keeping Donny and Little Donny alive, Frank asks that Dorothy (whom he affectionately refers to as “Tits”) endure his sexual kinks, which include a blue velvet fetish, some good ol’ fashion infantilism, and a touch of brutal masochism for good measure. Of course, as happens in every Scooby Doo cartoon, some pesky kids get involved and ruin everything – but not before lots of madcap high jinks and a bounty of memorable quotes, including this Shakespeareanesque  monologue:

    Don’t be a good neighbor to her  .  .  . I‘ll send you a love letter, straight from my heart fucker! You know what a love letter is?! It’s a bullet from a fucking gun fucker! You receive a letter from me, you’re fucked forever! You understand fuck?! I’ll send you straight to Hell fucker! In dreams I walk with you. In dreams I talk to you. In dreams you’re mine all  .  .  .  forever in dreams  .   .  .

    Be sure to pay tribute to the late Dennis Hopper by watching Blue Velvet this Memorial Day.

    RIP Frank, you'll live in our hearts forever.

Comments (37)

  • I liked him as Satan the Original Gangsta in one of those crappy vampire movies.

  • One of the best movies I have ever seen. But I am not so sure I am happy I saw it. Not exactly a feel good movie

  • @trunthepaige - It has a happy ending. 

  • @SKANLYN - Oh yeah all is well in the world. The theme of evil hidden in what looks an idyllic world. It is not a good thought. And Lynch is very good at making that statement in more than one of his works. But in this one he left me convinced

  • @trunthepaige - Eraserhead is far more of a downer. It's a better made film but really hard to watch and not nearly as entertaining or funny.

  • @SKANLYN - That is just it Lynch draws you in with some petty stuff and few laughs (Some really corny stuff). Pure ugliness causes us to put up our filters and take it less seriously. 

  • @trunthepaige - I tend to think he would have been a good choice to direct the "Sex and the City" movies. 

  • @SKANLYN - He could only have improved them. He could have had a serial killer take out Carrie and sold the rest of them into sex slavery

  • Blue Velvet

    is one of the best movies of all time.  I'll have to check out True Romance.

    Oh, yeah, I just stopped by after having become curious about you a week ago when that funny mind fuck thing happened.
    Imagine my surprise to see a song dedicated to me!
    Communist, huh?  OK, right, if you say so.
    Well you don't blog much over here, nothing new 
    Sometimes it's amusing to try to figure out why one person or another dislikes me so much.  With some people I know why.  With others, either I don't know, or I have completely forgotten.

  • I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably
    you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates readable, google friendly posts in seconds, just search in google - laranitas free
    content source

  • It's an amazing piece of writing designed for all the online viewers; they will get
    advantage from it I am sure.

  • Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one
    and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it's driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  • Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the great works guys I've included you guys to
    blogroll.

  • At this time it seems like Movable Type is the preferred blogging platform out
    there right now. (from what I've read) Is that what you're using on your blog?

  • Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins
    to safeguard against hackers? I'm kinda paranoid about losing
    everything I've worked hard on. Any suggestions?

  • Hi friends, how is all, and what you want to say on the topic of this piece of writing, in my view its actually remarkable
    in support of me.

  • Greetings! Very useful advice within this article!
    It's the little changes that will make the most significant changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

  • I'd like to thank you for the efforts you've put in writing this site.
    I'm hoping to see the same high-grade content from you in the future as
    well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get
    my own blog now ;)

  • At this time it looks like Expression Engine is the top blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I've read) Is that what you're using on your blog?

  • I do consider all the ideas you have introduced in your post.
    They're very convincing and will certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are
    very quick for newbies. May just you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time?

    Thank you for the post.

  • Hello i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i
    read this piece of writing i thought i could also create comment due to this brilliant
    article.

  • It's impressive that you are getting thoughts from this article as well as
    from our dialogue made at this time.

  • I'll immediately grasp your rss feed as I can not to find
    your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.

    Do you have any? Kindly permit me understand in order that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

  • Hey very interesting blog!

  • Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog
    and I'm impressed! Extremely helpful info particularly
    the last part :) I care for such information much.
    I was looking for this particular info for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  • Hello there! Quick question that's entirely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My website looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I'm trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able
    to correct this issue. If you have any suggestions, please
    share. Thanks!

  • Why viewers still use to read news papers when in this technological globe the whole
    thing is existing on net?

  • I'm not sure exactly why but this web site is loading very slow for me.

    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my
    end? I'll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  • Thanks for another informative site. Where else may I
    am getting that type of information written in such an ideal method?
    I have a undertaking that I'm just now running on, and I've
    been on the look out for such info.

  • Exceptional post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I'd be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Thanks!

  • Somebody necessarily lend a hand to make seriously articles I would state.
    This is the very first time I frequented your web page and thus
    far? I amazed with the research you made to make this actual put up incredible.
    Magnificent task!

  • When some one searches for his vital thing, so he/she needs
    to be available that in detail, so that thing is maintained over here.

  • What's up to every , as I am genuinely keen of reading this blog's post to be updated daily.
    It includes pleasant information.

  • Hi there! I could have sworn I've visited this site before but after going through many of
    the posts I realized it's new to me. Anyhow, I'm certainly delighted I discovered it
    and I'll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  • It's remarkable in favor of me to have a web page, which is helpful in favor of my experience.
    thanks admin

  • Thanks for finally writing about >Frank Booth is Dead |
    SKANLYN's Xanga Site <Loved it!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.